68 drawing ed toon as a cartoon drawing a cartoon

Edmundo Barragan pencil, 3 1/8" x 4"

Edmundo seems to like cats.  His cartoons are based on any number of mischievous and sarcastic kitties.  I could not resist drawing the cartoonist as a cartoon- my apologies Ed, I’m not a cartoonist… BTW those crazy eyes are actually a reflection of his computer monitor I believe- couldn’t leave that out!

If I forge Ed’s signature on a drawn copy of his own cartoon drawing, is that a violation of copyright? I’m confused…  See Ed’s crazy cats at ed tOOn!

This is portrait number 68 of 100.

Go here to see my other portraits, or learn more about this project.

To enter to win the 100th portrait (acrylic painting) even if I’ve drawn you before, go here

Thanks for visiting!

artboy68

Tagged , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “68 drawing ed toon as a cartoon drawing a cartoon

  1. Love the idea of cartoonist as cartoon– I have a graphic novel collection and wanted to see him but when I clicked the link, it didn’t go through. (?) I’ll try again later.

  2. I like the idea very much. Neat!

    btw: the link is faulty (you need to erase the additional before edtoon).

  3. Oh – that didn’t come out right. There’s an additional h t t p / / (I’ve spaced it out here) that needs to be erased from the link.

  4. #68 by artboy68– that sounds lucky!

    Great concept, well done. Hope this won’t sound too weird, but my favorite part was the shading and cross-hatching on your fingers holding the pen at the top; ditto the pen itself– looks superb and utterly spontaneous.

  5. hellenjc says:

    Great idea.. I love it !

  6. dayledann says:

    your genius is delightful! reposted yours & his that U did & it’s just tooo cool!!

  7. LadyT says:

    i like how this is a little out of the box. cool idea!

  8. artboy68 says:

    Thanks LadyT- it was a last second thought; I had actually scanned it prior to adding the pencil and fingers at the top… just occurred to me when I saw it on the screen!

  9. ElizOF says:

    This is so sweet! Wonderful drawing! ;-)

  10. haha! this is cool… a drawing within a drawing! Excellent!

  11. andie877 says:

    Love this one! The kitty and the crazy eyes, too cool……

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,750 other followers

