“carbon copy”

"Carbon Copy, (self portrait as my father)", carbon transfer on paper, image size 15 1/4" x 20 1/4"

The first in a series I’m calling ‘The Portrait Within’, “Carbon Copy, (self portrait as my father)”,  is the beginning of an intimate commentary on the person inside- the one we keep in the closet for introspection on rainy days.

The outward appearance only tells part of the story. I believe that as human beings we are the only animals inherently complex enough to invent ourselves on a daily basis to appear to others how we wish to be perceived. What follows here will be an exercise in peeling back the layers of the onion, revealing my interpretation of the unseen; the hidden parts.

Some may be pretty, some not so. Feel free to leave a comment.

artboy68

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on ““carbon copy”

  1. hellenjc says:

    This may be meant to be one that isn’t pretty…but actually I love pigs ;)

    Carbon transfer on paper? How do you do that Scott?

  2. madisoncary says:

    love this idea. can’t wait to see the story.

  3. Again I say, wow! I always look forward to your posts when I see your name in my Inbox.

  4. I found a quote I think you’ll like.

    “If you hear a voice within you say “I cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.” – Vincent Van Gogh.

  5. Hm. He’s a pig and so are you? But such a cute and happy-looking pig. Can’t be that bad. (Whatever it means, love the way it looks, the sketchiness of the method.)

  6. ElizOF says:

    Very interesting choice of animal… In the Chinese calender, Pigs are loyal and kind… I see that side of you. :-)

    • artboy68 says:

      Thanks Elizabeth! Interesting about the Chinese calendar… there’s a lot of deep meaning in this piece for me- it’s sort of about the ‘other’, other side of me… and reaches back generations; but I am loyal and kind too, (usually), thanks! I wrote an unusual story related to the idea of ‘self portrait as my father’, maybe I’ll post it here.

  7. Jane Thorne says:

    Pigs are also staggeringly tolerant and make friends for life…all good qualities Scott – Jx

  8. fiztrainer says:

    This is probably going to sound weird, but the first thing I thought of when I saw the pictures and then read your post was this episode of Twilight Zone where a dad dies and leaves behind a will that stated to each of his children that he was leaving behind the ability for them to transform into what they were on the inside. Each one of the adult children became who they really were. It was very much like you wrote here. I like this a lot. Makes you think about who you really are … uh oh (LOL)… Love your blog. It’s really interesting. Glad I happened upon it.

  9. isabellart says:

    I love it. This is such an interesting direction and discussion.

  10. clinock says:

    I am so impressed and inspired by your work and honoured that you are following art rat cafe. Your new series is brilliant and your portrait project blew me away, both in technique and challenge (100 in 20 weeks plus working full time – quite an accomplishment! – you should be very proud). You are a magician with a pencil and your colour work is magic.
    I am following your site as of tonight and look forward to exploring it in more depth and seeing your new work.

    • artboy68 says:

      Thank you for your kind words! I just came from your blog- you are an amazing artist and I envy the students you have had during your career as a teacher. Very inspired! I will be following you in kind!

  11. ciao! you are (ad)dressing the layers with a decisive intrinsic essence.
    thebestdressup

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,748 other followers

