“jessica’s christening”

"Jessica's Christening", pencil, 22" x 25 1/2"

This is a first share of an older drawing that I really love.  I thought it might be interesting for some of you to see a larger drawing for once, instead of the teeny ones I’ve been doing for this project.

The subjects are my sister-in-law and my niece, and I was lucky enough to share this special occasion with them and took the photo that I used for this drawing during a candid moment.

My niece is now a full grown woman and we all still share wonderful times together.

#family

cheers,

artboy68

Tagged , , , ,

38 thoughts on ““jessica’s christening”

  1. A truly magnificent drawing.

  2. xandreverkes says:

    Scott…. this is a very beautiful drawing!!! Looks like an old photo!!!! Really stunning!!! 🙂 **

  3. oh my gosh, hey Scott… wonderful, hyperealist drawing. AMAZING.

  4. Francina says:

    wow, your drawings are so amazing

  5. JSD says:

    Beautiful subjects…and an even more beautiful drawing! I love your work!

  6. Barbara says:

    That is absolutely amazing!! How long have you been drawing? What a cherished work of art for your family!

  7. hellenjc says:

    So good…so very, very good. You have captured how happy your sister-in-law obviously was.. Great job !

  8. Exquisite, Scott. Beautifully crafted, just seems to radiate life and joy. Truly fine!

  9. artjen1971 says:

    Wow! WOW! As an artist that draws portraits in realism, I am astounded! I had to look closely and reread your text because I truly thought this was a black and white photo. I just looked at it again–the two of them are just beautiful! The baby’s dress folds and the mother’s hand and that chubby little arm are as beautiful as their faces. I hope that you are making money at this–you definitely deserve to be seen and live well as a result of it!

  10. Jane Thorne says:

    Scott words cannot do this drawing justice…I too had to double check that it wasn’t s black and white photograph. It radiates light and happiness, what a treasure for your family to keep – lucky them to have you to record these moments in such a beautiful way. Jane

  11. I, too, thought this was a photo at first! Beautiful!

  12. It is just amazing and I agree with everyone – it looks like a photograph its sooooo good !

  13. drawandshoot says:

    Such a tender magnificent drawing.

  14. My first thought was, “THIS IS A DRAWING? DAFUQ!”

    Very beautiful and detailed. Love it.

  15. Thats an AMAZING drawing!! It looks like a REAL photo! 🙂 Cute cute cute baby too! 🙂

  16. Jasmine says:

    A really different feel from your smaller drawings, but equally lovely.

  17. wvbard says:

    This HAS to be a photograph. Did you use the…I don’t know the name, but that technique where you shade in with pencil in little circles? How long did this take you?! I know that when I tried to do a drawing with that technique it took me weeks and weeks.

  18. Rae says:

    Seriously beautiful. I thought it was a b & w. Ya fooled me!

  19. I still can’t get over the fact that this is an illustration. It’s so mind-bogglingly amazing.

Leave a Reply

