88 & 89, plus the ultimate hero/villain showdown.

Mar, coloured pencil, 2 3/8" x 2 3/8"

In her own words:

“I am Mar, a Creative Designer of many things. From Graphic Design to Fashion Design to Visual Installations. Modern Design is my mistress. I love contemporary art. Like art made right now. I really want a Winston Chimelinski painting. I am a hoarder. I’m not sure what level. I like Vintage Furniture and graphic novels. I like to cook and bake. I like sci-fi movies. I want to travel more. I like to make lists and I like to scribble in my notebook. I am Human.”  See her blog at SEA-IN-SPANISH.

Mar has elected not to show her face, but was happy to be relegated to the hero/villain list. We’ll see how she stacks up against:

THE PHONIC STRIP

The Phonic Strip, pencil, 2 3/8" x 2 3/8"

This second faceless character left a comment on my blog which read: “What if my head is a record?” To which I replied: “Maybe a doctor could help?” But alas, guilt got the better of me and I decided to give him his place on the roll. Here is a bit of info on him, straight from ‘THE PLAN’:

“Currently working on an album with nine tracks pretty much in the bag. Got another 30 or so ideas and sketches in progress. Have been working with a lot of interesting people and am going to keep beavering away compiling a body of work to pick the album from while thinking about taking it live. I’m not quite sure how I want the live show to manifest itself yet but I’ve got a fair few ideas…”

So we know that he is a creative musical type, and he also has a very interesting website, once you start snooping: http://www.thephonicstrip.com/

He goes on my villain list.

NOW FOR THE SHOWDOWN:

Richard Ess Wilkins; according to votes, a hero in the polished style of Bruce Willis or Jean-Luc Picard. (One person said Kojac…) See the original post and voting here: https://artboy68project.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/thirty-one-hero-or-villain-taking-votes/

 

Antonio Occulto, villain in the sense of vast secret organisations which meet after dark and purveyor of world-domination huggermugger. See the original post here: https://artboy68project.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/thirty-seven-antonio-occulto-super-villain/

 

 

 

Mar; hero in the dime-store vigilante tradition similar to KickAss, (feature film, 2010 directed by Matthew Vaughan).

 

 

 

 

The Phonic Strip (we can shorten it to something like ‘LP Guy’ or ‘Phonic Man’…. definitely a villain (but sort of a copy-cat of Bullseye, nemesis to Daredevil), his main arsenal appears to be exploding vinyl discs…

 

 

 

 

This is it, the ultimate showdown between heroes and villains.  Weigh in with your opinion or offer up a story; is there a double-cross or a romance involved? Who wins in this contest of might? Hmmmm….

CAST YOUR VOTE!!

artboy68

Tagged , , , ,

34 thoughts on “88 & 89, plus the ultimate hero/villain showdown.

  1. hellenjc says:

    Great, great drawings Scott… and what fun! but…. Jeepers this is hard…ummm… I think I have to stick with the original hero/villain combination of Richard Ess Wilkins and Occulto… They’ve been 2 of my favourite drawings of yours for ages 🙂

  2. Fantastic work, as usual!

    I vote for Mar!

  3. Love these. I vote for Phonic Strip

  4. I believe that these portraits are really all the same individual. A double double agent-master of disguise and intrigue;)

  5. SaptarshiC says:

    I think it’s a toss up between Pikachu-head and Record-head.

    Seriously though, I’ll go with Mar. Maybe she can’t electrocute her foes with lightning, but there’s always Taser. Breaking records isn’t really very villain-y.

  6. melonaide says:

    I vote Mar with the pikachu head. lol

  7. I Vote Kojak (or Telly Savalas). 🙂

  8. seainspanish says:

    Its a me MAR! This is really awesome. I love Hero/Villian showdowns! Seriously, I do. I’ve been having an Epic Rap Battles of History marathon. No one else but the best, ArtBoy68 to bring a Great Show together. No one else makes me want to push myself to sketch more than Artboy68. Favorite Villian must be Occultoantonio, love that drawing style too!

  9. Team Oyeniyi says:

    I vote for Richard too. The shaved head gets me every time!

  10. As always, amazing drawings!! I definitely have to vote for Wilkins vs. Occulto although I have to say the bright colors in Mar’s drawing are very lovely!! 🙂

  11. I just watched “Dr Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog”. Classic hero/villain showdown (and only 42 minutes long!) complete with secret identities, inner conflict, angst, death-rays, and rinse cycles.

    And a girl…. there’s always a girl…

    *deadly ninjas smash through the balcony window*
    ok gotta run!!! ciao!

  12. eof737 says:

    Remarkable portraits. 🙂

  13. Jasmine says:

    Favourite post so far.

  14. My vote goes to Richard Ess Wilkins. I don’t like heroes/villains who wear masks.

  15. Jamie says:

    Richard Ess is my hero!

Leave a Reply

