portrait 101: Dianna and Paige

Dianna and Paige, coloured pencil, 4" x 5 1/4"

This portrait was by special request;

“I have a (my only) daughter who is about to become a married lady this summer in Austin and then move to Seattle and I would love a sketch of us together when she was a baby and I was a young lady. I have the photo and it would warm my heart if you will sketch it. I would like to give it to my husband on the day she marries. Dianna”

Cheers, Dianna. Congratulations to your baby girl.

artboy68

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “portrait 101: Dianna and Paige

  1. hellenjc says:

    This is such a joyous picture isn’t it and you have captured that joy just perfectly Scott.
    No distractions in the background…just concentration on the faces. nice job! and what a lovely thing to do for her husband.

  2. artboy68 says:

    Thanks Helen. How could I refuse?

    • hellenjc says:

      You most definitely couldn’t….. the colour is lovely by the way and you were sooo right to choose it. B&W would just not have done for this one.

  3. jwms1 says:

    Love the composition, perspective,sensitive pencil work, and all done in a tiny format. It is lovely.

  4. eof737 says:

    Gorgeous in color. 😉

  5. Barbara says:

    Another fabulous one, but… What do you expect… You are unreal. Your new website ( http://www.artboy68.com) is fabulous, and we look forward to keeping up with you. It was such a lovely gesture to sketch 100 people from all over the world, promote our blogs AND SEND US THE SKETCH! It’s a treasure!! I thank you from the bottom of my heart, it really was so generous!!

  6. Dianna Pharr says:

    Scott, this sketch just reached right inside my heart. Your ability to capture expressions and relationships is a gift. I will always treasure this darling drawing and I know that my husband will love it as well.

    Thank you artboy68.

    Dianna
    Austin, Texas

    P.S. A few things I especially love about this work:

    The play of light on our hair.

    Her cowlick.

    The soft felt of the puppet.

    My hands.

    Her skin.

    My eyes.

    Her smile.

    The tendril of hair on my shoulder.

    The small of her back.

  7. WOWSAAAA this is an amazing portrait. Very big WELL DONE to yooou 🙂

  8. artboy68 says:

    Wow, thank you Dianna! I am so glad you like it- I really had to smile the entire time I was drawing. A big congratulations to your growing family!

  9. drawandshoot says:

    Fantastic Scott, it’s really beautiful and tender.

  10. Team Oyeniyi says:

    Scott, that is simply beautiful.

  11. isabellart says:

    Its wonderful ! The color is amazing. You are amazing!

  12. jhv57 says:

    Hi, Nominated you for WordPress Versatile blogger award! See the link here for more details!
    http://jhladikvoss57.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/wordpress-versatile-blogger-award-3/

Leave a Reply

