portrait #2: “I AM MY OWN WORST ENEMY”

“I AM MY OWN WORST ENEMY”, carbon transfer on paper, 15″ x 18″

Duality. Mental make-up. The shadow we visit in the mirror when we forget who we are.

Some days the sky is so blue you can taste it; others the air can press on your chest so hard you cannot breathe…

One day is a success. The next, a failure.

Human nature.

This is a private showing of artboy68 one and a half. This dual image unnerves me; combined from two separate photographs, the me under that face is actually smiling.

Can anyone relate?

cheers,

artboy68

“I AM MY OWN WORST ENEMY”, detail

Tagged , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “portrait #2: “I AM MY OWN WORST ENEMY”

  1. nonoymanga says:

    Facial expression works well. Good day Nonoy Manga

  2. hellenjc says:

    Absolutely I can relate Scott… One day I am serene silk and the next knotted like a piece of old rope..

  3. clinock says:

    relate, relate, 100% relate – takes courage to really look at your self. Love your shadow….

    • artboy68 says:

      Thanks John! It seems that usually, only the people who are closest to us in life get to see this side of our identity… elsewhere, the mask goes on!

  4. Great drawing.
    Ah yes! As it happens, I’m in the middle of a self-portrait series too. Unsettling in a good way.

  5. Jess says:

    Ohh yes… it speaks to me!! 200%!! :)) great work again Scott…

  6. This is utterly fascinating. I remember learning, in some psychology class long ago, that one side of your face tells the truth and the other hides it. I have no idea if this is true or not, but the idea sticks with me. I’m forever looking in the mirror, trying to tell which side is the liar and which side can’t hide.

    Love this portrait!! Interesting both conceptually and visually.

  7. Dasturdly Dan says:

    Spooky, yet lovely!

  8. drawandshoot says:

    Oh I can totally relate!
    Wonderful drawing Scott.

  9. Marvelous Drawing! Extraordinary Super-Villain 🙂 The Boss

  10. utterlywords says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you so much Wordart2012 just knowing that you were able to take somthing from my writing is a great feeling please check this writers blog out you will not be left wanting.

    The Liebster Award is given to bloggers who inspire you and have less than 200 followers. This award takes its name from the German word meaning “Beloved, Dearest or Favorite.” It is intended to support inspirational bloggers and to increase their following. Once nominated for this award you can choose to continue this cycle and nominate 5 others. You must also post about the award in your blog. In addition I will leave a comment on each person’s blog.

    I would also like to Nominate

    thinkwithbg For the love of life and unique style

    mauricesapirophotography For the breathtaking Imagery

    poemsforkush For their unwavering honesty

    patcegan For the Inspirational writing

    artboy68project For the inspiring vision

    Please check their Blogs out you will not be left untouched

  11. eof737 says:

    I suspect we can all relate… 😉

  12. Kimberly says:

    Remember you may be unnerved by the photos you used to view and draw yourself, by the fact that they are the real images of you, whereas the image you see in the mirror is your reverse. Like any artist, you’ll have days of intense success and others of complete failure, or as Momma said, “There’ll be days like this.” Props for your bravery.

  13. iamlenise says:

    ‘Duality’ ..one of my favorite words and expressions..best description of myself ever!..Thanks for sharing 🙂

  14. Val says:

    Curious (and a little disturbing, but not in a bad way!)

    My mother was a portrait sculptor and when she did her own portrait she did it from a mirror and forgot that it would come out the wrong way round (right side to left, left side to right). I have this sculpture and it’s a very strange alternative version of her.

  15. One of the strangest aspects of human nature seems to be that we need our dark side, and are weaker without it, even thought it’s the source of the self-sabotage that keeps us from becoming a better person.

    A bold visual statement, Scott. Hope you’re well and continuing to express your artistic side in all its dualistic glory!! : )

  16. artboy68 says:

    Cheers, Mark! I have seen my own shadow and smiled; coming up to a new season. All the best!

Leave a Reply

