79: fifteen hundred saturdays

Helen Cherry at age 20, pencil, 2 3/8" x 3 1/16"

Helen has been an avid commenter on my blog for a while now- much appreciated Helen! She was kind enough to forward me a few photos of herself including this beautiful and introspective capture of herself at age 20.  I thought it was fitting to choose this one, as her blog touches by nature on aging and life;  it is a project called 1500 Saturdays, in which she has committed to chronicling what happens on- that’s right- the next 1500 Saturdays of her life.  If you’re doing the math in your head that’s almost 29 years- certainly one of the most prospective challenges I’ve seen in a personal blog!

Helen authors a second blog called Helen’s Photomania Blog– check it out & say hello!

This is portrait 79 of 100.

Go here to see my other portraits, or learn more about this project.

To enter to win the 100th portrait (acrylic painting) even if I’ve drawn you before, go here

Thanks for visiting!

artboy68

Tagged , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “79: fifteen hundred saturdays

  1. EssJay says:

    great work 🙂 getting close to the end now 🙂

    1500 saturdays… thats commitment! WOW

  2. hellenjc says:

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh.. Thank you so much …how exciting ..it’s very strange to see a drawing of yourself when you were young, particularly as I look NOTHING like that now ( feel free to argue that point everyone 😉 ) and it’s given me an idea for my 1500 Saturdays blog for tomorrow… when I will share this link if I may 🙂

    It has been an absolute pleasure following this blog Scott. I have only been in the blogosphere since the end of October last year and have enjoyed the camaraderie immensely. I look forward to the rest of your 100
    Helen ( only 1 l 😉 )

  3. Lovely drawing as usual.
    Thanks, didn’t know that Helen has another blog. I’ll check it out.

  4. drawandshoot says:

    {{whistles}}
    Very nice Helen and Scott! A gorgeous drawing.

  5. […] People who commented on his project early on were in… I was cheeky (surely not! ) and emailed him a couple of photos and he picked a B&W one of me taken when I was about 20 and yesterday I was his number 79. You can see the full post here […]

  6. WOW!!! That is such an amazingly beautiful picture!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! keep up the good work!

  7. Jasmine says:

    I feel like I’ve just been punched in the face by personality! Great portrait! I really like the idea of Helen’s personal challenge as well! Our blog was also born in October… happy three months!

Leave a comment